In the Summer of 2020, the Fischell Department of Bioengineering established a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee, consisting of volunteer faculty, staff, graduate, and undergraduate members. The committee meets once a month to have open, candid, and challenging discussions about DEI efforts across the department as well as the field of bioengineering at large. In addition, committee sub-groups focused on key areas – such as programming, recruitment, faculty hires, and research support – meet on a regular basis and report to the full group via Slack, email, and other means to further initiatives. 

Chaired by BIOE Associate Chair of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Alisa Clyne, the committee aims to foster crucial conversations across the department and amplify the voices of underrepresented students, faculty, staff, and alumni. Copies of recent meeting minutes and agendas are available upon request. Those who are interested in serving on the committee should contact Dr. Clyne.

Current Committee Members:
  • Mari Andrews, Human Resources & Payroll Services Coordinator
  • Helim Aranda-Espinoza, Associate Chair, Graduate Studies
  • Erica Benkert, Coordinator of Administration 
  • Ashley Chapin, Ph.D. Student
  • Alisa Clyne, Associate Chair, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
  • Ariana Joy Lacay Decastro, Ph.D. Student
  • Angela Jones, Senior Lecturer & Director, Professional Master's Program in Bioengineering
  • Priscilla Lee,  Undergraduate Student
  • Katharina Maisel, Assistant Professor
  • Giuliano Scarcelli, Associate Professor
  • Abby Shantzis, Coordinator for Academic & Student Affairs
  • Alyssa Tomlinson, Assistant Director of Communications
  • Rebecca Ann Vaudreuil, Undergraduate Student
  • Alisa White, Ph.D. Student